Welcome to Grumpy Week

AppleSucks

Sometimes there’s no way around it.  Stuff goes on around me that just winds me up and I can’t help but get all “talk to the hand” about it, no matter how Zen I want to believe that I am.  I’ve had enough of certain holier than thou attitudes, of being lied to for sport, of people who want something for nothing, of being treated like crap by sociopaths and computer companies, of having to the endure the flawed policies of simpletons and dumb ass government leaders who think they know what they are doing, of not being paid enough for the brilliant work that I do and of having to live in the 21st century.

Apple Computers

I needed to update my video editing software so I checked into  Apple Final Cut Pro X.  Before I could use it I had to upgrade my operating system which took hours and then, when the update was done, many aspects of my computer had changed and I was not happy about that.  I also lost the ability to use two applications that I have used all of my life.  I need those applications, I like those applications and I don’t want to spend any more money updating those applications.  My week started out slower than ever as I tried to navigate a mouse wheel that now operated backwards to what I have know to be natural.

When I finally opened up FCP X, I was greeted with an application that looks as though it was designed for pre schoolers.  I can’t stand it, it looks in no way like an editing program that would ever be used by a professional.  The so called improvements that Apple has made to the video editing landscape make me want to stick my fingers down my throat.  The “magnetic timeline” and the “skimmer” feature are perhaps the most irritating features I have ever come across in my life.  There are dozens of other thing that add to my grumpiness but I refuse to let Apple force me to dedicate the use of more letters to what is a pathetic attempt at evolution.

If my computer was an Apple developer, I would slap him.  I have never believed in violence as a way to get anything, but Apple has just managed to make me crazy enough to consider it.

There are other editing softwares out there, but after decades of spending, I don’t have any desire to spend any more money on computing and the fact that computer and software manufacturers are forcing the consumer to do that is infuriating.  I have spent enough money on computers and computing in my lifetime.  What makes me so grumpy is that computer companies and Apple in particular think that they are the star in my life.  I want to remind Apple computer, software developers and computer manufacturers of all kinds that a computer is a tool that is designed to make ME the star in my life.  I don’t have time to waste trying out new features that YOU think will help me out.  I don’t want you to help me out.  I want to do it myself.  That’s what makes ME the star in this equation, the fact that I use my computer to do great things.  A computer is just a tool, okay!? All that you do when you force me to upgrade is force me to spend countless valuable hours re-learning things I already know how to do.  Stop it…please!

The HoverBoard

Man, this century is, so far, a huge disappointment. No star trek styled food replicators or transporters, no affordable interstellar transportation or planetary destinations, no global peace and international understanding.  According to the movie “Back to the Future”, next year, in 2015, we were supposed to be riding hover boards and driving flying cars.  Last week we got this:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A4vE_vpkr90

Turns out it was just a hoax, a big disappointing hoax.  I mean…why?  Why go to such lengths and expense to create a hoax?    They would have done better to invest their money in some comedy writing lessons, or , better still, to have given it to charity that was developing Hover technology.  The only thing they seem to have left out of their comedy routine was the part that was supposed to make it funny.  Apparently it was created by Funny or Die in association with skateboarding legend Tony Hawk, so I guess, in this instance, they died. I imagine that Tony Hawk is getting old and needed to generate some publicity to keep selling skate boards.

http://www.funnyordie.com/videos/eb823e7388/funny-or-die-is-sorry-for-lying-about-hoverboards

Did I mention that this is grumpy week?

The Ukraine

For anybody that was living under a rock, Russia has been messing around with the Ukraine again.  The Vladimir Putin Effect is doing its best to march the world straight back into the cold war era probably because Putin is getting old and needs to relive his glory days as the head asshole of a country run by thugs, bullies and homophobes.  The 80’s were his time and he wants desperately to bring the world back to that era.  I mean, really, who marches soldiers into a country in uniforms with no insignia and then announces that the annexation of a piece of a sovereign country is not negotiable.  Russia, that’s who.

http://www.ibtimes.com/russias-use-unmarked-troops-simferopol-crimea-shady-not-illegal-1559425

http://www.nytimes.com/2014/03/08/world/europe/ukraine.html?hpw&rref=world&_r=0

Putin says that The Ukraine’s russian speakers can’t be ignored, but the way I see it, those russian speakers are living in the Ukraine, so if they aren’t willing to be good Ukrainians and learn Ukrainian maybe the should move across the border to Russia where they won’t have so much of a problem speaking their own language.   The Ukrainians have suffered enough indignation in the past century at the hands of bullies.

But of course, A country shouldn’t always be judged by its leaders.  Russians do this too:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KgoapkOo4vg

Fuel Prices

Of course, as soon as the Ukraine started having problems, the price of fuel went up where I live from $1.26 to $1.46 a litre.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/british-columbia/russia-ukraine-crisis-causes-vancouver-gas-prices-to-spike-1.2561597

The excuse that oil companies put forward was that events in the Ukraine could disrupt distribution.  I don’t know about anyone else, but when you look at a map, The Ukraine is not geographically situated well enough to have a bearing on any kind of transportation equation that relates to Canada getting its petroleum.  The last time I looked Alberta was right next to BC, where I live, so we Canadian’s should be getting the best fuel prices in the world seeing as how we live on top of the stuff. But hey, I guess the petroleum industry is just getting old and trying to jack up profits any way it can before the renewable energy revolution arrives and they all end up out of jobs.

We are told by our government that substance abuse and addiction are bad and yet the example they set by continuing to suckle from the petroleum teat for transportation is appalling and disappointing.

I really am over being dictated to by petroleum junkies and people who feel the need to only listen to 70’s/80’s classic rock radio stations and reminisce about the cold war.  I know that the 80’s was when Canada’s oil boom really took off, but do these people really have to continue listening to the music from that era to justify their existence?  It would seem that the Reaganomics  generation simply will not let progress and evolution get a foot hold and are bound and determined to force all of us to live with the outmoded values of the past.

Boy oh boy, I really am grumpy this week.

The Decline of The Canadian Standard

And while I am talking about setting a bad example, what gives with Stephen Harper and his conservative thugs?  Besides all of the secret legislative moves he makes to suppress voters rights and shift Canada towards totalitarian rule, he continues to do so after it has been made public that his government stole the last election.  His response to the revelation?  To attack Elections Canada and remove their ability to provide for fair and legal elections completely.

http://www.huffingtonpost.ca/news/elections-canada-stephen-harper/

Add to this the fact that he and his associates finds it necessary to produce and broadcast American style attack ads targeting their opposition makes, them, in my opinion, the number one worst example for our children and an enemy of the state (errm).  What a paradox that the state can become an enemy of the state.  Is this really what we want to teach our kids, that being a bully and an ass hole is okay.  Canadians used to be better than that and I for one only see Harper as a nasty virus that is infecting this nation with his counter-productive and hate filled behaviors.  We used to have laws regarding such things but since he took power all that has ben washed away.

When Harper said “You won’t recognize Canada when I’m through with it” back in 2006, did the citizens of this country realize that what he meant was  promoting war, maximizing oil profits, creating a corporate oligarchy, muzzling any real or potential critics and teaching kids to be bullies and assholes?

If I seem grumpy, it is because, this week, I am.  Inside the great scheme of things, something I call “The Yin and Yang of It All”, everything I talk about here today is the result of extremists sticking their elbows into the rest of us.  I suppose you can just sit back and take it or you can be proactive.

The next time some self righteous prick tries to cut me off in traffic, I will stop my car in front of them, calmly get out and tell them in a firm but incredibly happy way, that I simply am not going to put up with it any more.

I’m not sure what I would do next, but if it is only to make them miss the light and slow them down for a minute, it will be incredibly satisfying.  I also know it won’t actually change  thing and that I am probably just getting old, which is why I am so grumpy this week.

God, am I ever grumpy.

Leave a Reply

